Last Updated: 9/21/2023
If you have been injured in an accident in Iowa, you will have a certain amount of time to file an injury claim. This is because of the Iowa statute of limitations, which establishes time limits for different types of personal injury claims. Therefore, if you plan to pursue compensation after an accident in Iowa, it is important that you understand the Iowa statute of limitations and how it will affect your ability to seek compensation.
Iowa Statute of Limitations for Various Types of Claims
The Iowa statute of limitations for injury claims are as follows:
- Negligence/Personal Injury - Generally, 2 years from the date of injury.
- Medical Malpractice - Generally, 2 years from the date of the negligence with some exceptions with what is known as the discovery rule. There are special rules regarding minors.
- Products Liability - Generally 2 years, but there are other limitations depending upon how old the product was at the time of the injury.
- Wrongful Death - Generally, 2 years from the date of injury.
- Note: these are general guidelines and not legal advice. There are some exceptions to the above such as if the injured party was a minor when they were injured, etc. Also, if you have been injured by someone who was sold or served alcohol then you may have a Dramshop claim and you must serve notice on the bar or place the liquor or alcohol was served within 180 days of the accident, subject to the discovery rule in some limited situations, or your claim may be forever lost.
If you have questions about Iowa's statute of limitations such as, "which Iowa statute applies to my particular accident/injury?" an experienced Iowa personal injury lawyer can talk to you about the classifications and considerations for your case.
Iowa Statue of Limitations: When the Clock Begins Ticking
According to Iowa statute of limitations, the time limit is supposed to begin when an injury is suffered. For instance, if you are injured in a car accident in Iowa, the Iowa statute of limitations will begin at the time of the car accident. Therefore, you will have 2 years from the date of the accident to file an injury claim, but you should not wait that long to file a suit or settle your claim because bad things can happen which can result in your claim being barred.
To find out what statute of limitations applies in your case, you should can consult an experienced Iowa personal injury lawyer. An Iowa personal injury lawyer can investigate your accident in Iowa, and make sure that you file your injury claim within the required amount of time.
If you have been injured in a car accident Iowa Personal Injury Attorneys Corey J. L. Walker practices and Erik Bair offer a book about car accidents in Iowa at no risk, cost, or obligation. The book called “The Legal Insider’s Guide to Iowa Car Accidents- 7 Secrets to Not Wreck Your Case" is available by clicking here or by calling 641-792-3595. We offer our Iowa car accident book at no cost because we have seen firsthand how hard working Iowans have been taken advantage of by insurance companies. Iowans who have been injured in car accidents are beginning to realize that the other driver's insurance company is not there to help with the claim and it is a good idea to be educated about Iowa's car accident laws. Finally, there is a book about Iowa car accidents that you can review in the comfort of your own home on your on terms. For immediate assistance call 641-792-3595 and ask to speak to one of our injury attorneys.